Kalamazoo Section of the American Chemical Society

We are a dynamic and visionary organization committed to improving people’s lives in our community through the transforming power of chemistry.  We strive to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Kalamazoo, Allegan and Van Buren counties.

Annual Awards Gathering

Monday 12 May 2014

This event has already taken place. For a list of upcoming events, see our events page.

Chemistry Building Atrium
Western Michigan University
Starts at 6 pm

For a list of previous Section Award recipients, click here.

KACS Awards Ceremony

by Megan Grunert

The 41st KACS Awards presentation was held on Monday, May 12, on the Western Michigan University campus with a record-number of attendees. Awardees included four individuals celebrating 50 years of ACS membership, the Outstanding High School Chemistry Teacher, Outstanding College Chemistry Student awards, several high school student awards, and awards recognizing service to the KACS section.

The awards for high school students are based on outstanding achievement on the Competitive Examination Competition, organized by Dr. James Kiddle, or on nominations from teachers at local schools. The Outstanding High School Chemistry Teacher is nominated by the high school principal. Dr. Sherine Obare and Dr. Andre Venter were instrumental in reviewing nominations and selecting this year’s award winner. Both Western Michigan University and Kalamazoo College selected an Outstanding College Chemistry Student.

Attendees enjoying food in the atrium

The Kalamazoo Section Award Winners were Sherine Obare for her many years of service on the Education Committee, Charissa Oliphant for her many years of participation as presenter at Chemistry Day at the Museum, and Doug Williams and Elke Schoffers for their enthusiastic, positive, and continuing leadership in the Section. The section would also like to recognize the significant contributions from the Education Committee (Megan Grunert, James Kiddle, Sherine Obare, and Andre Venter), Lydia Hines, Elke Schoffers, and Robin Lenkart in organizing another outstanding awards ceremony. Congratulations to all awardees who are recognized below.

Fifty-Year Members
  • Dr. David R. Buss
  • Dr. Rex Hornish
  • Dr. Ferenc J. Kezdy
  • Mr. Eldon George Nidy
Outstanding College Chemistry Students
  • William B. Thayer - WMU
  • Amanda Bolles - K-College
Fifty-year member Rex Hornish

Fifty Year Member Dr Rex Hornish

2014 KACS Outstanding High School Chemistry Teacher
  • Jennifer Billington - Parchment High School
Outstanding high-school chemsitry teacher Jennifer Billington

2014 Outstanding High School Chemistry Teacher Jennifer Billington (Parchment High School), with Education Chair Dr. Megan Grunert

Outstanding High School Chemistry Students
  • Brian Bartley - Loy Norrix High School
  • Sean Brennan - Paw Paw High School
  • Denise Garner - Gull Lake High School
  • Logan Hughey - Kalamazoo Central High School
  • Callahan Katrak - Mattawan High School
  • Doug Keto - Comstock High School
  • Emily Konkel - Portage Central High School
  • Felicia Murry - Portage Northern High School
  • Ashley Pepple - Plainwell High School
  • Justin Richardson - Kalamazoo Christian High School
  • Katherine Wu - KAMSC
2014 Outstanding High School Students

2014 Outstanding High School Students

2014 Competitive Scholarship Winners
  • Andrew J. Bingham – Plainwell
  • Amanda G. Gibson – Mattawan
  • Anastasia C. Kupstas – Gull Lake
  • Callahan K. Katrak – Mattawan
  • Kaylie E. Colyer – Plainwell
  • Chandler L. Stockwell – Gull Lake
  • James C. Gibson – Gull Lake
  • Kade C. Katrak – Mattawan
  • Tyler A. Leverton – KAMSC / Loy Norrix
  • Brian Bartley – Loy Norrix
  • Anna K. Lane – Gull Lake
2014 Competitive Scholarship Winners

2014 Competitive Scholarship Winners

2014 Competitive Scholarship Honorable Mention
  • Allison E. Bartz – Portage Central
  • Sydnie Bodzianowski – KAMSC / K-Central
  • Jacob A. Cipich – Portage Northern
  • Malachi C. Cox – Loy Norrix
  • Sarah J. Melbow – Gull Lake
  • Joshua M. Mussche – KAMSC / Comstock
  • Ashley L. Pepple – Plainwell
  • Evan M. Stoll – Portage Northern
  • Trenton L. Thelen – Wayland
  • Ryan T. Vennard – Gull Lake
2014 Competitive Scholarship Honorable Mentions

2014 Competitive Scholarship Honorable Mentions

Kalamazoo Section Award Winners
  • Sherine Obare
  • Charissa Oliphant
  • Doug Williams
  • Elke Schoffers
Kalamazoo Section Award Winners

Kalamazoo Section Award Winners. Left to right: Dr. Doug Williams, Dr. Sherine Obare, Dr. Lydia Hines, Ms. Charissa Oliphant, Dr. Elke Schoffers