Kalamazoo Section of the American Chemical Society

We are a dynamic and visionary organization committed to improving people’s lives in our community through the transforming power of chemistry.  We strive to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Kalamazoo, Allegan and Van Buren counties.

39th Annual High School Science Symposium

Tuesday 01 May 2012

This event has already taken place. For a list of upcoming events, see our events page.

By Lydia Hines and Donald Schreiber.

WMU Chemistry Building

Four High Schools in Southwest Michigan brought about 100 eager students and their teachers to our KACS HS Science Symposium on May 1, 2012; it was hosted in the Chemistry Building of the Chemistry Department at Western Michigan University (WMU). The Schools represented were Kalamazoo Central, Saugatuck, Homer, and Gull Lake.

The students and teachers arrived at 9 a.m. and were treated to a presentation by representatives of the new WMU Medical School who impressed them with the lengthy process and persistence required to become a practicing physician; they were also made aware that a high GPA and MCAT scores do not guarantee entry to Medical School. For the remainder of their stay the students were able to choose among tours to the WMU Imaging Center or the WMU Linear Accelerator Laboratory, observe a glass-blowing demonstration, and attend other keynote addresses in three parallel sessions on topics such as Alternative fuels, Nanomaterials and their use, Veterinary medicine, Frontiers in tissue engineering, Neurobiology of the sense of smell, Food color chemistry (with samples), Microbial Biodiversity, and Our Place in the Universe.

No program for students would be complete without donut holes and fruit drinks Appreciation was palpable. Sincere thanks go to the Local Section’s Education Committee (Dr. Don Schreiber, Dr. James Kiddle, Dr. Sherine Obare, and Dr. Andre Venter) and to Section members and non-members* for their joyful generosity of time and expertise.

*Kathryn Docherty, Frank Meints, George Kean, Robert Eversole, Stephanie Morley, Steve Bertman, Asghar Kayani, Steven Nitsch, Christine Byrd, Manuel Bautista, Lydia Hines, Robin Lenkart, Pete Ziemkowski, Eli Collins-Brown